Farm Wife in Training: Make Hay While the Sun Shines (And before all the equipment breaks)

This particular adventure occurred while we were helping a friend bale 2nd crop of hay on rented hay ground in mid-july. The land was what Dear Country Boy said is only suitable for goats. It is very, very, very hilly and rough. Add to the scenario-rain is forecasted for that night. We need to get the hay baled and off of the field, without any delay.

Dear Country Boy had brought his 3 hay wagons along. Apparently they have John Deere gears, which means that you can drive 55 mph down the highway when towing them behind the pickup.

(Dear Country Boy prefers to buy farm equipment with the good green paint.)

We fill up the first hay wagon, and took it home to unload it. (Do you know that some crazy people stand IN the wagon while the bales are being kicked into it and stack it? I tried-the ground was waaay too hilly and I thought I was gonna fall out the wagon or have a bale land on me. That particular farm wife lesson can be left out of this text book!)

The friend had continued baling, and when we returned to get the next wagon, we find this:

 

 

11745-2012-07-2219-48-48

Wagons don’t roll too well when the box has slid back and the wheel is rubbing against the wood beam.

No big deal, we can fix this!

Dear Country Boy crawls under the (fully loaded) wagon, and somehow unhooks it from the chassis thingee.

Just a reminder-While I am a horse girl, I am used to hay arriving, and stacking it in the barn. I don’t know how to operate the equipment used to make hay. I grew up in town. So I apologize for the lack of technical knowledge for those that grew up on a farm.

Then Dear Country Boy hooks a chain from the truck to the box. The Plan: Pull the wagon box forward, then reattach the box to the chassis. My Job: drive the truck until he says stop.

I get in the truck (hey-I might not be able to operate all farm equipment, but I CAN drive a stick shift Dodge!) I roll down the window, put the truck in 4 wheel drive, and pull!

It takes a couple tries, but we do manage to slide the wagon box off of the wheel, and reattch it.

Yay! Disaster Averted!

Then we go and see the 2nd wagon. It looks like this:

6b393-2012-07-2220-05-56
The support beam that runs parallel had cracked. Once again, the box of the wagon is rubbing on the wheel. Again, wheels don’t work very well when they can’t move freely.
No big deal, we can fix this!
After grabbing a ton of blocking, and a jack, and unhooking the wagon box from the chassis thingee, Dear Country Boy jacks up the (fully loaded) wagon box up off the wheel.
Then we slide in a new (temporary) support beam.
Then lower the box back down, and chain the entire thing back together.

Yay! Disaster Averted again!

We did manage to get all of the hay baled and off of the field before the rain that night.
Dear Country Boy’s motto:

“Adapt, Improvise, and Overcome”
-Clint Eastwood

I am going to have to remember this one. I have a feeling we will be living by this motto a lot!

