Farm Wife in Training: Fall=Scramble, Hurry, & Rush to Get Things Done Before Winter! (AKA my excuse as to why I haven’t had more blog posts)

I apologize for the lack of Farm Wife in Training posts. Fall is a super busy time on a farm!

We have had a lot of “little lessons” that are not quite enough for a blog post on their own, so I’ll mix them together.

Lesson #1: It doesn’t matter if today is the only sunny, nice day in the past two weeks, don’t ride the sensitive show horse when they harvesting crops!

We rent out some of our land, since we do not have the time or equipment to plant corn ourselves. The fields all looked naked to me when they harvested crops!

Farm Wife in Training: Fall=Scramble, Hurry, & Rush to Get Things Done Before Winter! (AKA my excuse as to why I haven't had more blog posts)

Before

Farm Wife in Training: Fall=Scramble, Hurry, & Rush to Get Things Done Before Winter! (AKA my excuse as to why I haven't had more blog posts)

During

af3df-2012-10-1611-01-39

Anyways, back to lesson. Let’s just make it a short story, and say that it was finally a nice sunny day. The outdoor arena was still too mucky to ride in, and due to the rain Babs had a week off. I had figured it would be a good idea to ride up and down the driveway and along the field road a little bit to give her some exercise. Tractor spooked horse-horse bucked-I hit dirt. Note to self-make Dear Country Boy ride the feely horses after they have had time off! Oh-and kids-wear a helmet!

Lesson #2: How to Drive a Bale Wagon Loaded with 8 Round Bales (when it was made to haul 6)
Again, Fall is scramble, hurry, & rush time. In this case, that means loading as many bales as possible onto the bale wagon to get them off the field before the forecasted rain/snow.

My job-drive the truck pulling the bale wagon. We are storing most of our feed for the winter in a rented barn at the county farm. So I had to drive a few miles down hwy 23 with this:

1b074-hay
Yes-those bales are just stacked, not “strapped down”. Yes, its heavy, pulling the bale wagon, and no, the bale wagon does not have trailer breaks. It took 4 trips to move the corn fodder bales off the field. Our sunlight went away quicker than the skid steer could load bales onto the wagon. It was well past dark when we finally got the last bales off the field-but we beat the forecasted rain/snow! Future Farm Wives-be prepared to sit a truck waiting to be loaded/unloaded, and be ready to drive unsteady loads carefully wherever they need to go.

Lesson #3: Beware of Barn Cats (They are out to get you)
We only have one cat on the farm. Her name is Emma Lou. Apparently Emma Lou used to be a house cat, but somehow got kicked outside at some point. I understand why.

Emma Lou’s favorite perch in the barn is on one of the stall walls. Usually she sits there quietly, looking sweet and innocent. You barely even notice that she is there.

One morning I had Babs in the cross ties putting on all of her blankets before she could go outside and play. It is like wrapping and unwrapping a big Christmas present putting blankets on that mare-except the gift isn’t shaking and moving because an excited 5 yr old is unwrapping it, it’s shaking and moving cause that mare is so excited to go outside. Regardless, putting blankets on and off of Babs is a chore in itself.

The rest of the story I will tell from Babs’s perspective:

It was a pretty typical morning. The feed lady that sometimes rides me came in, put my halter and put me in the cross ties, and started switching my blankets. I have lots of blankets! I have cozy warm stable blankets, a fleece lined hood, and tough waterproof turnout blankets so that I can go play outside. I try really hard to stand still when she puts my blankets on me, but I am usually just so excited to go outside that I can’t contain myself.

So here I am, trying to behave, when all of a sudden out of the corner of my eye I see an flying attack cougar! Before I can react, the cougar is on my back! I panic! What is this cougar doing in my stall anyway? I rear up, trying to get the cougar off my back, but it has dug it’s claws into my blankets!

The wimpy feed lady has ran out of my stall, so much for her saving me!

I then trying bucking, maybe that will get rid of the cougar.  My bucking fit is somewhat diminished because I am restricted by those darn cross ties, so I am really just bucking in place. That cougar is tough-I can’t get it off my back!

“WHOA!”

I stop bucking, all four of my feet spread out wide. I can feel my nostrils flaring as I try to breathe. The cougar is still on my back.

The feed lady has come back into the stall. I can hear her talking softly, murmuring, but I am too scared to understand the words. THE COUGAR IS STILL ON MY BACK!

The feed lady slowly walks up beside me. I am shaking in place, but standing still. She reaches over my back, and grabs the attack cougar! She pulls it off of me, saving me!

As the feed lady walks out of my stall carrying the cougar, I notice that the attack cougar is really the barn cat. Evil barn cat!

Farm Horse Lesson: Beware of the Barn Cats – They are out to get you!

 

