Farm Wife in Training: Stray Voltage! (And Learning the Proper Names For Please Hand Me the What-ya-ma-call-it)

Another weekend, another project!

This weekend’s goal: change out the horse waterers. Like many farms, ours has some stray voltage issues.  The Ritchie Waterers that were in the horse pens were shocking the horses when they drank. Our options to fix this issue were 1) to pour concrete so that the horses were standing entirely on a concrete slab when they drank (making the entire area an equal potential plane), or 2) replace the waterers with the double insulated plastic MiracoFount waterers. We have the same Ritchie waterers for the cattle, but the cattle yards are all concrete so the cattle don’t have the same stray voltage issue.

In my opinion, horses and concrete don’t really mix, so we decided to replace the waterers to fix the issue.

478b1-2012-12-0109-34-45

Farm Wife in Training: Stray Voltage! (And Learning the Proper Names For Please Hand Me the What-ya-ma-call-it)
Old Tanker decided to help
Farm Wife in Training: Stray Voltage! (And Learning the Proper Names For Please Hand Me the What-ya-ma-call-it)
Ruby testing out the new waterer
My main job throughout the process was being the go-fer.

I thought I knew what most tools were, but it turns out I didn’t! I was properly educated on the proper names! I was sent to fetch the Channellock, the wire strippers, the hammer drill, the crescent wrench, a hammer, lag bolts, nuts, and washers, run over here quick and heat up the plumbing putty with the heat gun please, fetch the pvc glue, go grab the drill and make sure that it has a phillips bit on it, get the sawzall, and my personal favorite- honey please try to find a 5/8″ socket wrench in the mess of a tool box. The weather was wonderful this weekend, so it was nice to be outside.

Good thing that Dear Country Boy is an electrician and knows how to do all this stuff!

I, of course, earned an A+ on my tool fetching skills.

