The Indoor Riding Arena Project (AKA I love my Hubby!)

My hubby is amazing.

Last winter I didn’t ride at all. Mostly because I was pregnant, but also because from November through April, our outdoor arena is either covered in snow, ice, or is so wet that you can’t ride in it.

This winter, I really, really, really wanted an area to ride that wasn’t snowy or icy so that I can get Molasses ready to show in Foundation QH or Ranch Horse shows next summer.

It didn’t take much persuading to get my Hubby to clear out 2/3 of our shed to make space for a 60′ x 80′ indoor riding arena.

With some help from his brother and a few friends,  over the span of three weeks working evenings and weekends they turned our shed into a really nice riding arena!

shed part 1 shed2 shed3 shed4 shed5 shed6 shed7 shed8 shed9 shed10

 

We were three boards short to be completely finished as you can see from the last photo.

It might be windy and snowy and icy outside, but I now have a space out of the wind with decent footing to ride this winter. Which is great, as we have a 2 year old to start under saddle, Molasses to keep legged up and get ready for me to show next summer, and a broodmare that was started as a two year old, then not ridden to restart.

And it will be a great place for Colton and our nephew to ride Mr. Potter the Perfect Pony over the winter too!

20141122_152858

 

Did I mention that I love my Hubby?

